Project Life | February

I started off this year’s Project Life album feeling pretty good about documenting in closer to real time than ever before. I planned to print photos weekly or at least every other week, and to record the stories while the details were still fresh in my mind.

I did pretty well in January 2015, but heading into February, life was in full swing, and documenting it took a backseat to living it. I fell a bit behind. In the Project Life community of creators, you hear a lot about this ‘behind’. That’s because many Project Lifers use the weekly format for their albums; week 1 through 52, each week gets a spread and everything flows quite nicely.

But, since I don’t organize my album by the week, was I really behind? Hmmm…

In Early March, I sat down to organize my photos taken in February and plan out the pocket pages I would fill with them. I organized and planned in much the same way that I always do; I just had a month’s worth of photos to do that with, instead of just a week or two’s worth. (Maybe I will do a post sometime on my planning process. It’s pretty simple, but it took me over a year to find my way, so it may be something worth posting. May be helpful to some…) I do the planning before I print the photos, so I can know what sizes to print which photos.

Soon, I had February 2015’s photos in hand and I was ready to get right to creating! Hooray! So, I go I would work as I had time and felt inspired to. And I liked working from the perspective of overviewing the entire month, even as I told the stories about certain days. I also liked how once I got into a creative flow, I could run with it, since I still had at least a few week’s worth of photos to play with! 😉

Most of the stories were still somewhat fresh… but, I also did rely a lot on Instagram and Facebook captions, notes in my phone and even asking the boys and Erik to help recall some details for me.

Anyway… if Project Life is a new or even foreign concept to you, then a lot of this is just jibber jabber, right? You can read more about this amazing form of memory keeping created by Becky Higgins here. 🙂

And today I am sharing here my favorite Project Life spreads from the month of February. Enjoy! ❤

SumofMyLifeBlog-3    SumofMyLifeBlog-5

SumofMyLifeBlog-4   SumofMyLifeBlog-6

We had such a blast building that amazing Lego set together as a family. I knew I had to devote a full page to documenting that. It took me a bit to figure it out… When I finally did decide on which page protector to use, Design B , I thought that the cropped photos and being able to see through to the next spread might bother me. But, it didn’t at all and I actually kinda like it.

SumofMyLifeBlog-16

SumofMyLifeBlog-7

SumofMyLifeBlog-9

SumofMyLifeBlog-10   SumofMyLifeBlog-15

SumofMyLifeBlog-14   SumofMyLifeBlog-13

SumofMyLifeBlog-15   SumofMyLifeBlog-17

This may be my favorite spread of the month. I loved how the blues, yellows, grey and even bits of red worked together. and of course, I love the super sweet memories.

SumofMyLifeBlog-22

SumofMyLifeBlog-18   SumofMyLifeBlog-20

SumofMyLifeBlog-19   SumofMyLifeBlog-21

Really had fun going with the hearts and the lovey love stuff of February on this spread. 😉

SumofMyLifeBlog-32

SumofMyLifeBlog-23

SumofMyLifeBlog-25

SumofMyLifeBlog-26   SumofMyLifeBlog-24

SumofMyLifeBlog-28

SumofMyLifeBlog-27

SumofMyLifeBlog-30

Ohhhh, I changed my mind. This one is my favorite. ❤

SumofMyLifeBlog-33

SumofMyLifeBlog-34

SumofMyLifeBlog-36

More February memories, in the books. ❤ Makes me so happy…

SumofMyLifeBlog-38

SumofMyLifeBlog-40

SumofMyLifeBlog-43

SumofMyLifeBlog-42

And there ya have it! As I put these pages together little by little, I feel that somehow I came back to the reasons why I do this at all. I don’t have all the coolest tools, the latest kits, I don’t have all the embellishments, the bells and whistles. I am not the Project Lifer with all the best and most innovative ways for documenting life’s moments. I am not the Project Lifer with the prettiest, most Pinterest worthy pages. But, I am a woman whose family’s stories are being recorded. A mommy whose hundreds of iPhone photos are printed and admired by the ones who lived those stories. And I am a girl who loves paper, yes. And color. And creating.  And I do this because it is the best, most fulfilling way that I know to bring together these things that matter so much to me.

Leave a Reply

